Salman Khan and his Academy

This is one of the nicest and most inspiring talks I have watched recently. This is the story of a young man, who started out on a great mission by accident. He just wanted to “help” out two of his cousins. And the road he chose to take, now brought him to establish this ‘academy’ which is used to teach, to learn, to proceed forward in a quest for knowledge. It all started with a couple of videos uploaded on YouTube for how to learn a concept in Maths.

Link to video

Now there are over 2,700 videos for Maths, Science, Humanities, and so many more. All these videos are for everyone to use because as we have been saying, and most of you have been saying through this blog, everyone has the right to learn, at any time, at his/her own pace, when he/she needs it. Have a look at what Khan talks about and then browse through the videos. Use them for your own personal self, to learn, to teach and to grow.

35 thoughts on “Salman Khan and his Academy

  1. There has been a great leap in the last couple of years in the way teaching and learning is taught and received. The use of technology helped in instigating autonomous learning even more. Having difficulty in a subject takes just a click of a button. Look at you tube for example and how it can renders a difficulty in Maths or physics concept much easier to understand. You can have different teachers explaining the same subject/concept and you can actually follow the lesson over and over again. Apple has recently announced iBooks textbooks using interactive animations, diagrams, photos, videos, unrivaled navigation and much more. You can even interact with the book itself. This will surely engage more pupils into the learning of more abstract concepts and to better understanding. Have a look at this new emerging technology and check out how schools are trying to adopt them. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-XLfWGrhdg

    • Grazzi hafna ta’ dan il-video, impressjonanti hafna. Wahda mill-iktar sentenzi li impressjonawni kienet “when you learn you become a better person”. Nghid ghalija tant ilna f’ din l-imbierka Universita, lectures u ezamijiet li kull tant nibdew kwazi nqisuha bhala xi haga negattiva biss. Forsi naqtghu qalbna li dawn l-isforzi jistghu ikunu kollha ghalxejn habba in-nuqqas ta vacancies ghal ghalliema, jew anke naqtghu qalbna li forsi ma naslux sa l-ahhar ta’ dan il-kors ghal xi raguni jew ohra. Imma ejja nghiduha kif inhi, li titghallem xi haga, kun x’suggett ikun, qatt mhu hazin, kif qed jghid dan il-video… issir bniedem ahjar tista biss.

      Dan il-video introduca sistema gdida minflokk it-text books. tradizzjonali. Biss biss jekk niehdu l-kotba li nixtru ghall- credits ta’ l-universita, ara kemm infaqna flus biex inkunu qrajna xi chapter jew tnejn biss minnhom. Jiena nghid ghalijja nsib il-google books veru utli ghalhekk, ghaliex nsib il-page ezatta dwar l-informazzjoni li ghandi bzonn, minghajr ma nkun infaqt flus. Din is-sistema li hawn introdotta fuq dan il-video tippermettilek li mhux biss il-ktieb isir tieghek, imma li l-ktieb joffrielek dinja ohra ghaliex kollox interattiv u kwazi kwazi inti issir haga wahda mall-ktieb permezz tal-hsejjes, videos u ritratti li jinkludu.

      Din is-sistema tista’ tghin ukoll it-tfal taghna fis-sekondarji. Fit-teachiing practice innutajt xi PSD teachers jaghmlu lessons lill tal Form 1 dwar back pack safety, minhabba li hafna minnhom kienu qed jigu l-iskola bil-basktijiet mimlijin kotba ghax kien hemm xi serq mill-lockers. Dawn l-iBooks kieku jiswew biex l-istudenti taghna la jkollhom piz zejjed wara darhom u apparti minn hekk inaqsu mil ammont tad-detentions, ghax ikollhom il-kotba dejjem maghhom!

      • Agreed. What impressed me the most was the amazing simplicity of the concept of this kind of teaching. I am sure that there are people who will say that this might not be the best way to teach, but I think that in specific circumstances and in different contexts this might be a good addition to classroom practice. You know – one question I would like to ask all of you is this: do you think I could have covered all that is written in this blog in the 3 sessions we had previously been allocated? And even if I did, do you think that following all this in the classroom, would have had the same effect as it had for you through this blog?

      • Ma nahsibx li kieku saru it-tlett sessions kif kien ippjanat kien johrog daqshekk frott. Biss biss jiena qed naqra l-kummenti ta’ nies li mhumiex fil-grupp tieghi. Apparti minn hekk jiena certa li kieku fil-klassi, nofs in-nies li kitbu f’ dan il-blog jew ma jghidu xejn jew ikunu qed jaghmlu/ jahsbu xi haga ohra flok isegwu il-lezzjoni.

    • Thank you for posting the video about Textbooks re-invented for iPad – really interesting!
      We note that both students and teachers can benefit very much from technology. Maltese parents sometimes complain that their children have to take heavy books to school with them.
      Although many schools have lockers, technology could lighten this burden. Now that textbooks are being stored on iPad and laptops; using them makes the satchel weigh much less I suppose.

      As for the video regarding the Khan Academy, I was impressed by the comments he received, including, “First time I smiled doing a derivative!” and mostly by the message from the parents of an autistic child who is now starting to understand mathematics. This shows that if teachers invest more in inclusive strategies, the outcomes would be much appreciated from everyone. Also thank you for posting this video!

      Recently I was reading an interesting article about a very bright autistic child. Here is the link, just in case you want to read it – http://theautismnews.com/2011/03/25/autistic-boy12-with-higher-iq-than-einstein-develops-his-own-theory-of-relativity/

      • Thanks for sharing… and in reply to some of your thoughts, you know that one of the buzz terms which is on everyone’s lips is ‘Differentiated Learning’. I believe that the reality is that as teachers, you will be finding more and more individuals who have distinctly visible differences all in the same class. And there will be those who will be rather ‘different’ in the sense, that you will hear a lot of things about them including: “they come from a difficult background”, “they have severe learning difficulties”, “they have ADHD”, and the list goes on. I believe that it will be difficult to cope with all these differences, especially in the first couple of years. But I also believe that there are tools, and ready made applications, that can make life a bit easier for you and can make your teaching less stressful. Increasing learner motivation, and engaging learners will certainly help. These tools and these ideas are all simple enough that you yourselves can make use of them. You don’t need to teach in the way you have been taught when you were young, unless that way was innovative enough. Today you have the possibility to make a difference to someone who is different.

    • Technology in schools have generated impressive results for students. These include in improved achievement, higher test scores, improved student attitudes, enthusiasm, more engagement, richer classroom content, and improved student retention and job placement rates. Hundreds of studies nowadays show positive benefits from the use of technology. A good use of it during these last few years have resulted in educational gains for all students regardless of age, race, parental income, or other characteristics and differences. Students are now able to explore and represent information more dynamically and in many other forms. They can become socially aware and more confident, communicate effectively about complex processes, and also become independent learners and self-starters.

      Have a look at this video and see how technology can be the key to motivate children and make us all be part of a global classroom.

      http://www.youtube.com/Teachers

  2. One of the comments in the link shared by Duncan is that books are static. Most of the students prefer material which is kinesthetic. Having all the topics in Mathematics redone as videos on youtube is one of the most innovative ways ever. Such videos can help both the learners and teachers. A teacher can tell her student to see the video of the material she had covered in class. This will help students understand the material better.

    • Certainly! As you pointed out we come across kinesthetic learners in almost every class. This approach caters not only for such learners, but also for the visual and auditory learners. Taking into consideration that mathematics is one of the subjects that several pupils tend to dislike, for some reason; this approach may be useful to put in some interest in mathematics as welI. Many say that curiosity is one of the key factors that motivates pupils to learn. Hence, the teacher can use these resources to promote curiosity.

  3. What impressed me about Khan’s video is that through these videos he also managed to help an autistic child with his maths studies. I think that this is amazing. Especially when we know the difficulties these children face to learn.

    Re: iBooks textbooks it is true, these will make children want to learn. Take for example the difference between a picture coloured book and a black and white book. Children would be more attracted to read the coloured book. Let alone if one can click on the picture to see in detail!

  4. I was and still am very horrible at maths, yes people I admit that I feel as dumb as a turkey when it comes to maths. I never understood anything the teacher said in class and was never motivated to learn. There was nothing that made me feel interested during the lesson as I used to see maths as such an abstract subject. Somehow my mind never clicked. In fact when I got my O’level exam results I was so happy that I had passed and that I was never to study that subject again.
    I can identify myself with Salman Khan’s cousins. Sometimes I felt so shy to ask the teacher questions over and over again without going anywhere. It’s true that they tried to help me as much as they could but the fact was that I used to think that if I had asked them one more time they would have shot me. Sometimes I felt as if I was offending them because of the continuous problems that I encountered.
    Out of curiosity I checked out Khan’s videos and they really work. It seems such a big deal for me to understand a mathematical concept. Looking back I envy the fact I didn’t have these aids to help me understand. This would have certainly lightened some of my problems with maths.
    While I’m at this I also have to thank my friends that are doing a PGCE maths as when we were doing PETDI Module 2 using the interactive whiteboard, they used the ICT to teach shapes. That was the first math lesson in which I understood what the teacher was talking about. Therefore thanks to you all for making me happy about the fact that I UNDERSTOOD MATHS.
    It also impressed me that it also helped autistic children. It is such a wonderful thing when you see that someone has understood what you are saying, let alone if you see that a child with autism is managing to understand. Everyone has the right to learn. There is no need to complicate things to our students.

    • I think this explains a lot.: http://lolyard.com/28/whats-on-the-blackboard
      Even if it is a bit funny I think that in reality at some point in time we saw something like this on the board. Now whether it was math, languages or any other subject, in one of those days we felt lost. That is why when I see a simplified version of what I’m not good at and of what I have to learn I go for it.
      I also think that the students we’ll find in our class have been exposed to all these innovative technologies that the hardest thing to ask from them is to pay attention in our class: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTtRsuTCJNk&feature=endscreen&NR=1 moreover we can be the ones who generate misbehavior in class because of the “boring stuff” we present in class. This makes me agree whit my colleagues and whit the video that Duncan posted earlier.

  5. I completely agree with Duncan because portfolios can be beneficial to the teacher and to the student. The teacher can put material on-line so that material which s/he was not able to pass during the lesson can easily be downloaded or read by students from home. This material is accessible to students and so they can enhance their learning. They can go to school and ask their questions to the lectures where even they may have any difficulty. The most important thing is that of generating curiosity in the students so that they continue to learn. All paperwork or printing may be avoided. Students can access this material when they want. Schools should consider this aid in learning too. At the university we have the moodle where material is made available for the students to read. On the other hand, students must do their job and read this material.

  6. I am a person who simply loves books, their feel, distinctive smell, the touch of the pages etc, I nevertheless have to admit that there are so many different Internet tools which make reading and learning so much more attractive with their computerization, colours, interactive activities etc that without realizing I have started to buy less and less books (though I still treasure and make use of the ones that I have) and I have started to explore more and more the internet and the wide range of activities and resources available. Just like Khan Academy which offers so much revision exercises, explanations etc, no printed book can ever have hundreds/thousands of different examples, hints etc than websites such as Khan Academy can have. I believe that this is the only way to go, technology and internet resources together in class which engage and motivate students more and more.

  7. Thank you for posting this video. What impressed me most about Khan’s video was that through these videos he managed to help different types of people. The teacher can make use of this type of material to make the subject more interesting and understandable. Using proper strategies as Khan mentions one can ‘Learn maths as you learn anything, like learning to ride a bicycle’ reaching all the different learning styles of the students. However, I must also say that I personally think that printed textbooks still remain important to understand certain concepts. I must admit that this could be the product of what I was taught and the methods by which I was taught but Summative Assessment still remains important in our present education system. On the other hand, using different strategies will surely reach different types of pupils and actually have the students learn certain concepts and enjoy themselves at the same time.

  8. You know – one question I would like to ask all of you is this: do you think I could have covered all that is written in this blog in the 3 sessions we had previously been allocated? And even if I did, do you think that following all this in the classroom, would have had the same effect as it had for you through this blog?

    I think it depends, because if no one is participating except for the teacher, I guess it could have been easily covered. But I do believe that it wouldn’t have the same effect as this blog. For one, I am quite shy so I find it difficult to comment in class, even when I feel like I really need to make my voice heard. Also, at University we have a lecture after a lecture, so if our lecture happens to be the fifth one of the day I would be honestly lost or thinking of something else. Here I can follow the blog at my own time and because I want too, I think this makes a difference.

    In addition, I’d like to add that Khan and his Academy is great. I’m one of those students who never asked a question in front of the whole class because I was shy and afraid. These videos would have helped me a lot, and I surely will be fowarding these links because we will always find such students in the classroom.

  9. Technology to humanize education… I’m totally convinced! How ironic, people usually associate technology with dehumanisation but in this case, the Khan Academy is giving teachers the opportunity, through the use of videos available on the net, to deliver the student-centred education that we have all been discussing (maybe even cynically). Here is a solution for finally freeing up precious class time to focus on what counts most, interaction!

    And this is only one benefit… by using videos to deliver the ‘content’, learning can become an ‘intimate’ and personalised self-paced process rather than a one-size fits all experience. And the objective is not to ‘pass’ but to master the content so that learning is about building on prior knowledge.

    Finally, what a great formative assessment tool to be able to have specific feedback on where the student needs help!

    How relieving to find out that technology is going to help us, 21st century teachers, be the educators we are expected to be!

  10. I think that what this young man did is amazing. First of all, it’s a simple idea, I mean, anyone could have done a lesson like his on youtube, but maybe it’s the way he did it and the way he kept on doing it. Also, what I noticed was that, was’nt for positive comments from other people/bloggers, probably he would’nt have continued doing these lessons. I watched some videos on physics, biology and chemistry. He seems to be very knowledgeable in all of the areas, I have no idea how hemanages all this. I think the answer lies in one being convinced that he is doing something of value. This guy impressed me. I saved his link and will look up some of his lectures that could help me in my teaching (I would obviously use small parts of the videos since some of them are quite long). Thanks for sharing!

  11. “…teachers have used technology to humanize the classroom…”

    I was one of those who used to think that technology dehumanizes the classroom. However, after watching this video I am totally convinced that technology can in actual fact humanize the learning process. As indicated in the video, technology enabled teachers to use a student-centred approach rather than a one-size-fits-all approach. By means of technology their lessons became more interactive as interaction increased both between the teacher and the students and also between students themselves. Thus here also came into play the element of peer tutoring which by means of technology can also occur beyond the walls of the classroom.

    I think that this video is worth watching as it really makes one reflect on the pedagogies used in our schools.

    Impressive and interesting video…thanks for posting it…

  12. “….jista’ jkun li hija biss koinċidenza ta’ żmien.”

    Din twassalna għal mistoqsija: “Għandna għalfejn lill-istudent nimmarkawh bħala “gifted” jew “batut”? Kif qal tajjeb Salman Khan fil-video tista’ tkun biss kunċett taż-żmien. Kull individwu huwa uniku fil-proċess tat-tagħlim tiegħu, għalhekk kull wieħed/waħda minna jieħu żmien tiegħu biex jifhem/jevalwa/jikkritika dak li qed jiġi mgħallem. Min hu batut ISSA, jista’ jitjieb iktar ‘il quddiem…allura imbagħad f’dak il-każ ma jibqax batut u nibdew insejħulu “gifted”?

    Dawn il-mostoqsijiet kollha jwasslu għal kunċett li semma’ Kalman ta’ “….self-phase learning.” Naħseb tkun idea tajba ħafna li l-għalliema jibdew jimplimentaw din l-idea lill-istudenti tagħhom permezz ta’ aktar attenzjoni u dedikazzjoni lejn futur l-istudent.

    Grazzi talli qsamt magħna dan il-video….interessanti!

  13. Wow .. it’s a mind blowing video and I’m excited more than ever to go out there and try this out! The way he speaks about the idea of a whole big classroom, not just the traditional classroom as we know it. The idea of peer tutoring becoming possible and interactive more than ever, the motivation that this concept has on students and the great feedback that teachers receive. It’s amazing how the teachers get such a detailed feedback on their students’ progress and I think that having such a feedback is a key to understand your students’ needs. I also appreciate the fact that Khan has established this learning system keeping in mind the various differences and difficulties of children; when he received a letter from a child’s parents saying that he was autistic and that with the help of Khan’s videos, he acquired the mathematics concepts. By watching this video, it gave me an idea of where we’re heading, and I would be more than happy to be part of this future ..

  14. I consider this video as a challenge for teachers to be more creative, in the sense that, instead of teaching in a traditional or common manner, one can adopt technology to teach the subject. In my opinion, especially for students who use the internet from an early age, it appeals by them as fun and at the same time a learning resource. In my case (Spanish) it would be very helpful especially for a particular topic for beginners to introduce the verb llamarse (to be called). One can make use of a videoed-play to make this verb in a context and also to present to students sociolinguistic content (usually Spaniards when they meet they hug etc.) All this is contained in one video and students can see it as much as they need and want. They can stop it and continue the video when they like and the more they hear Spanish language the more they improve their competence regarding audio.

  15. He is one incredible person! I wish I was teaching Mathematics! It’s too bad he has no educational videos re geography topics. On the webpage, it is stated that there are 115,894,218 lessons delivered!!
    For example, in the video Earth Formation, he puts up a picture and explains it, then continues to expand with the use of other pictures along with including his own text and free hand drawings to aid his explanation. It’s amazing how he simplifies the topic for the person to understand.
    He said that his cousins preferred him on a Youtube video rather than in person and that it made sense since they could replay his explanation and that ‘’they could watch it in their own time, at their own pace’’. Another line that I found interesting is ‘’the notion that the very first time that you’re trying to get your brain around a new concept, the very last thing you need is another human being saying ‘Do you understand this?!’ ’’.
    Some students may be too shy, some may give you the impression that they have understood completely what you were saying and you may not even notice that they did not understand. Another fascinating feature was the record tracks of the individual student’s achievement and attainment levels.
    What also impressed me was Duncan Ciappara’s link on the textbook re-invention for iPad video. It is really incredible on how the use of technology will affect the present and future generations. An accessible world of knowledge waiting to be explored and understood according to one’s own swiftness. In this video, Terry McGraw said that ‘’The textbook on the iPad is so much bigger, broader and more dynamic because what it does is that it brings the curriculum alive.’’ It seems that the upcoming generations are becoming more IT-friendly…and why not? After all, it does bring knowledge to life.

  16. After watching this video and the ideas which all of you posted to share your ideas with regards to this subject, I wanted to search on Google a picture which describes it all, I found a typical picture which is embedded in a blog which talks about The Innovative Educator’. This picture which I am speaking shows an educator who decided to give his students the opportunity to transform the music lesson into a collaborative classroom. The picture shows a male teacher giving instructions to his students to make use of iPads and view tutorials to learn musical techniques.

    I am posting the link of this website…
    http://theinnovativeeducator.blogspot.com/2011/10/instead-of-globally-competing-lets.html
    THE INNOVATIVE EDUCATOR…Way Out of the Box!

    Instead of globally cometing, let’s collaborate!

    From the description of this picture, I want to underline the phase which the educator said on this matter:
    “Yes! Yes! The students can handle it!” I wanted to shout…..

  17. What an interesting talk! I found it similarly inspiring as the talk by Sugata Mitra. Both speakers have the best interest of learning and education at heart. Salaman Kahn argues against the ”one size fits all” approach to teaching and like Sugata Mitra, he believes in self-based-learning. His non-profit website, which shares videos relating to various mathematical and scientific topics, promotes this notion of self-education. I have visited his website and was blown away by the vast number of videos available. I have personally took the opportunity to share it with friends of mine who are students in these fields. Surely, they would find it helpful.

    During his talk, Salaman Kahn said that ”technology is being used to humanize the classroom”. Through the use of his educational videos, students in class can work together to understand and practice the topic together as group work. Furthermore, these videos can help with the students’ homework, for when they find it difficult to complete or in cases where the parents/ guardians are unable to help. Kahn believes the students will ”…do it long as necessary until they have mastery” and that parents and/or teachers should ”encourage them to experiment”. This self-based-learning opens up many doors to opportunities that will help us in the educational field. We should work with technology, to move with the times and to make use of what can potentially lead to a better education for our students. In conclusion, I do agree with Salaman Kahn when he says that through technology we can make a ”global one world classroom”.

  18. The following is a comment mentioned in the video. It was sent to Salman Khan by parents having an autistic child:

    “My 12 year-old son has autism and has had a terrible time with math. We have tried everything, viewed everything, bought everything. We stumbled on your video on decimals and it got through. Then we went on to the dreaded fractions. Again, he got it. We could not believe it. He is so excited.”

    Technology seems to be the magic wand that enhances learning in all students not just the autistic ones. The saying goes that a picture is worth a 1000 words. Now we can say that a good teacher equipped with the right resources is the correct recipe for effective teaching and learning. So true!

  19. I looked up some of these videos and they are really good. I agree with the previous comments that videos like these can be very helpful. Its not the first time that I looked up a video in order to understand something which I didn’t get the grasp of in class or in order to help me study a theory better for an exam. I agree that these videos can be a lot more educative then text book sometimes, but we also need to keep in mind, those students who learn better through text. I totally agree with what Khan says that with videos people can watch it as many times as they want and if they do not understand it the first time they can keep playing it.

    I used to be one of those students that was embarrassed to ask the teacher to explain something to me again and i’m sure there are many kids out there that are just like me so videos like these were very helpful because I could play them in the comfort of my own home. I believe that an important point comes out from this video and that is that videos like the ones he created can also be useful for students with different abilities. Khan’s video’s help an autisitc child understand maths. Video’s like these are a good way to help students who have certain learning problems and from what Khan says it shows that it is sometimes they way things are taught, that prevents students from understanding and not because they are ‘stupid’, ‘naughty’, ‘ADHD’ or whatever other labels we might give to students.

  20. Thanks for the video! I can actually believe it can work. Sometimes I search on youtube for tutorials. They are of great use especially if you did not understand a particular step. They are of great help. I also believe that the students themselves have to be motivated intrinsically in order to carry out these kinds of learning.

    This can be of great use for teachers even to explain a particular topic which takes lots of time to explain in words and with just one video clip of let’s say 10 minutes, they can actually understand the whole concept. It is great for individual learning and differentiated teaching as children work at their own pace and avoids tagging children as the ‘high achievers’ or ‘low achievers’. Definitely a great idea for visual and auditory learners.

  21. Nisma’ affarijiet ġodda u dejjem nitgħallem! Dan kollu għamiltu bl-użu tat-teknoloġija, billi segwejt vidjow li tfajtilna fuq dan il-blog. L-istudenti jistgħu jagħmlu l-istess. Spiċċa dak iż-żmien li l-istudenti jitgħallmu biss permezz tal-kotba u li jitgħallmu biss permezz tal-lezzjoni. Illum għandna din l-għodda li tajjeb inħaddmuha. Il-fatt li jkun hemm nies bħal Khan jitfgħu vidjows bħal ma beda juri jfisser li l-istudent ikun jista’ jarahom mill-kumdità ta’ daru, iwaqqfu u jkomplih meta jrid, u fl-aħħar mill-aħħar xorta jitgħallem.

    Huwa vantaġġ ukoll għall-għalliema oħra li jistgħu jużaw vidjows simili fil-lezzjonijiet tagħhom biex jiffaċilitaw il-proċess tat-tagħlim lill-istudenti. Li laqatni wkoll minn dan il-vidjow kien li bis-saħħa tiegħu, anki jekk wieħed jaħseb li l-vidjow forsi jista’ ma jkunx suċċess, jista’ jagħmel ħafna ġid. Kif qal tajjeb hu stess jista’ jbiddel il-burdata ta’ min jarah u jagħmel il-proċess tat-tagħlim aktar interessanti. Anki l-fatt li vidjow ta’ dak it-tip jgħin ukoll lil nies li ġejjin wara, ngħidu aħna lit-tfal tagħna li għadhom ma twildux, ukoll huwa ta’ vantaġġ.

    L-intwizzjoni tiegħi hija li l-istudenti jridu affarijiet differenti mill-mod ta’ kif inhuma mdorrijin illum. Din l-apatija li forsi naraw fihom jaf ġejja għax ma nolqtux il-gosti tagħhom. L-istudenti tal-lum, it-teknoloġija jħobbuha u għalhekk hu importanti li affarijiet bħal dawn inżommuhom f’moħħna ħalli l-istudenti nżommuhom magħna kemm jista’ jkun.

    Biex ma ntawwalx, xtaqt insemmi wkoll punt ieħor li rajt validu f’dan il-vidjow – il-punt dwar it-tagħlim differenzjat. Permezz ta’ dan il-metodu, l-istudenti jibdew b’affarijiet faċli u jekk jindunaw li fehmu l-kunċett, huma jistgħu jkomplu jitgħallmu iżda l-livell jitqal ftit ieħor. Barra minn hekk, l-għalliema jkollha rekord ta’ x’qed jagħmlu l-istudenti u tista’ tiffoka, ngħidu aħna, fuq dawk l-istudenti li qed iġibu ħafna mir-risposti ħżiena.

  22. To be honest, I never heard of Salman Khan, and as I watched this video, I can say that his talk is really great. He manages to entertain even the talk, which leaves the audience to stay watching attentively. Although he said it as a joke that his cousins preferred him on youtube than the real person, it’s true that sometimes individuals prefer the virtual version of something. Maybe students show that they prefer the technological part of a lesson. This is sort of an example: many times, there may be some students in the class that are not paying attention to what the teacher is saying, but as soon as a video clip is played, they become 100% fully concentrated on what is being said.

    The video posted by Duncan Ciappara “Textbooks re-invented for iPad” is very interesting, and this shows that teachers, as images on books, must not remain static, and everyone must develop to this new technology. This doesn’t mean that technology will conquer our lifes, but it means that we, as future teachers, must integrate technology into our life, our academic life. That’s how Salman Khan managed to view Maths as being an entertaining subject, and students will get more motivated to learn as they do not have the “always boring” lesson. There are a lot of applications which one can use to convert the traditional lesson into a modern one. With such applications, teachers can create an animation of themselves, while students can watch it again and again.

  23. Thanks for posting this link. It is very interesting. I’ve got to know about Salman Khan and his academy throughout this blog and in is very useful for me since I’m a PGCE student in mathematics. In my next teaching practice I will encourage my students to use this resource. This will surely engage more the pupils into learning and help them better understand the concepts covered in class.

  24. I think this is just another example of how much we need to experiment to teach students certain tasks. It is a simple concept but a great idea in the same time. What made me think more on his idea is when his cousins preferred him more on youtube than in person…most probably our students preferred us like this too. In a classroom, a student may find it more difficult to do certain things regards his learning process in the subject. The student maybe shy to question something or he maybe tired during that particular time. Khan’s idea give the student the opportunity to value more the explanation of the topic. Student’s valuable time with their teachers could be very short. Also teachers have very limited time to dedicate to individual support during the lesson, Khan’s idea makes the students feels that he is being tutored individually. I think that the most amazing thing in his idea is to create a global one world classroom. I think Khan idea had also the same idea of Sugata Mitra of self learning.

  25. I went through his website and was amazed with the amount of videos there are. I wish I knew about this website before when I was doing Pure Maths it would have been very useful. I will definitely share his website. The practical exercises are also very beneficial. In a traditional classroom a class moves on to a topic even if students got 95% and this result in gaps that keep building. With these videos one can learn Maths the way ‘you ride the bicycle’ i.e. doing a task as long as necessary. It’s impressive how it’s started from a simple idea and ended in this innovative way of learning. These videos are also really helpful for those students who would be embarrassed to ask the teacher as Khan said they can watch it in their own time and pace.

  26. I really liked this video. Thanks so much for sharing. I really believe that technology in students can really make a difference. I liked the part when the autistic child’s parents said that now, their child started understanding mathematics. I believe that if the teachers believe in the strategies they use, and be more inclusive in their way of teaching, there would be better results for everyone.
    I very much agree with the statement that “when you learn you become a better person”.

Leave a Reply

