Spicynodes…adding spice to you classroom

Just came across this tool… called Spicynodes… can’t wait to use it with my own students…great for mindmapping. Check it out. Simply sign in and use it with your classroom to share and brainstorm ideas whilst watching as your students progress on their work. This blogsite has been created specifically for one project and shows how young students are producing tangible results for an English language class. Great use of different resources including: Spicynodes, Audioboo, and YouTube.

54 thoughts on “Spicynodes…adding spice to you classroom

  1. I think spicy note is very useful for our teaching material because it helps organize the information. I could imagine using spicy notes when teaching a topic such as classification. Spicy notes will help to organize the information in an orderly way making it easier for the children to understand the topic.

    • It’s not spicy note… it’s spicynode…because it works using the concept of chunking information, as happens in mindmaps using nodes or rather distinct points emerging from one central point, presenting information in a visually appealing way which helps the person understand concepts through graphical representation.

  2. Im sorry there was a typing error from my side , I think with respect to science as I already mentioned I would use spicynode in classification , for example when vertebrates give rise to birds, reptiles, amphibians, mammals and insects. When the info is presented in this way it will help the students see the info more clearly ..

  3. MMM I think it’s attractive for students as well. But I have a question about using this. To use this program I think I have to have Internet access? Because it’s interesting to use in the classroom but if it needs internet access than I can’t use it in class. In the nodes, can I include a drawing or a picture coz i didn’t manage, but now I am a bit tight on time, so I will experiment on this program after the exam period.

      • We as educators are continually trying to improve the teaching presentation skills by using ways of getting the students motivated and presenting an interesting lesson without losing the students attention. SpicyNodes helps teachers to use fun ways to do their subject area (in my case Social Studies), and produce authentic and tangible education for all range of ages. To motivate my students I usually use :

         PowerPoint presentations
         Role Play
         Discussion to examine various points of view
         Questioning Technique (Brainstorming)
         Video clips (mostly through You Tube)
         Music
         Group work
         Contrast abstract facts with current events to bring relevancy to students
         Offer several options for projects so that each student can express his or her understanding in individual ways
         Develop a Gallery Walk: Social Studies teachers posts pictures, art prints, student-created posters around the room. Students are given an assignment to complete as they walk around the room looking at each object.
         Analyze Political Cartoons: The use of political humor to explain perspectives can leave a lasting impression on students. As an alternative to using existing cartoons, Social Studies teachers can assign a topic such as ‘Consumption’, and have students draw their own cartoons to illustrate a perspective.
         Student-Centered Teaching: The Social Studies teachers coordinates time, space, materials, and activities as he or she helps the class achieve their group and individual goals.

        But from today, since I discovered the great benefits of SpicyNodes that work perfectly for my subject area (Social Studies) I will surely include it in my list. I recommend Social Studies teachers to take a look at these benefits:

         Map read amounts of information in a structured way.
         Rapidly achieve a grasp of a topic without having to read through pages of text.
         Gain insight into familiar topics by looking at them at multiple levels of a hierarchy.
         Find needed information faster by following a navigational path through meaningful node interconnections.
         Find the information you need even if you’re not sure what you are looking for, by discovering the connections between different pieces of data.
         Explore information in a non-linear ways.
         View related text and images stored in other locations on the Web.
         Interact with nodemaps in a natural animated environment that is intuitive.
         Interact with nodemaps using familiar click-and-drag methods.

        In addition, Audioboo might also be beneficial since it allows students to create, collaborate, publish and interact with peers and experts. It gives an opportunity to use different media to communicate ideas and information. Students can create an Audioboo to display any new knowledge, and afterwards they can be embedded into school VLE or Class Blog. The following some examples of how Audioboo can be used in the classroom:

         Word Problems – record word problems for your students to complete for HW
         Book Reviews – allow students to create a Boo of a book they have read
         Reading – record students reading stories or poems
         Guided Reading – use Boos to guide reading groups

        Hope this short note was helpful for other educators who are motivated to start or continuing their educational career in a fun, different and pleasant experience for both the teachers and the pupils involved in the learning process.

  4. Spicynodes looks interesting indeed. It reminded me of the last lesson I went during our observation. The teacher decided to dedicate the lesson to mind maps since exams were approaching. Although it was a PSD lesson, he showed the students how they could do a mind map say about their English Literature book which happened to be Hamlet. In this way, the students can use the tool instead of actually drawing the mind map themselves on a chart.

    • I can’t agree more with Lydia, Spicynodes is very similar to mind maps which have been used for quite some time in the classroom. I remember being ‘trained’ into using them in our exams for our essays for the examiner to go through just in case we never finished the essay! Spicynodes definatley provide easier learning as students do not have to face large chunks of information but rather short notes which show their rleation to eachother through arrows. A good tool indeed.

  5. I have just taken a look at it, and it looks interested, even the format and the designs that you can use are appealing to the students. In my opinion this helps the students to learn more, and the approach of learning will be student learning approach. I think that I will use the Spicy nodes as homework (if I would not have any internet in the classroom) because in my opinion they are a good tool for students learning, as today’s generation like technology.

  6. I think that these Spicynodes are really useful to implement. I believe that it would really aid the students’ understanding and to remember the information. Such graphical illustrations can be even constructed through various designs and colours, making them even more attractive. Their constructive manner is what makes them an effective tool.
    This link gives a good example of how to organize, ask questions for students to reflect, along with what to include in nodes and sub-nodes: http://www.spicynodes.org/teachers-weather-lesson.html
    Another example provided was on the topic of ‘Exploring Calendars through the Ages’…presenting information on the Mayans’ amazing accuracy in a sub-node (Calendars of the Past–> Maya): http://www.spicynodes.org/a/fd15ee43638285acdad08ae5cc917755

    Besides loving the film Avatar, I fancied the video that the year six students at Heathfield prepared on the world of Pandora, especially when they showed the exact locations of the planets accompanied by their short descriptions(0:22 till 0:42 seconds) http://worldofpandora.heathfieldcps.net/
    As an example, I can give regarding the topic on how height is shown on a map. This link shows how the use of the Spicynode tool can be implemented in the topic of height, together with some reflective questions at the beginning of the lesson: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18199061/Height.pdf

  7. Also, regarding the Pandora video they have created, shows how technology along with their interests such as the vast imagination of the film Avatar, helps them in several ways; learning English, learning to make a video, make use of the media, interest themselves on the topic of space, adding their own imaginations together with cooperating and collaborating with their classmates.

  8. The use of spicynodes is good for making better use of mind maps. I used it in many subjects since it is a good idea for writing assays and other staff in exams. In chemistry I have used it for the main general part of it and it have served me well. I am going to use Spicynodes with my studnets in this teaching practice and also eventually in my teaching carrer.

  9. I think spicynodes is great! Thanks for sharing. I have not come across it before and this it is perfect for teaching English as we use a lot of brainstorming and mind maps when eliciting from students. I have previously used https://bubbl.us/ for creating mind maps..its really good. I used it on the interactive whiteboard, however you can also prepare it prior to the lesson if you like and print it. Check it out, its quite useful. I would definitely like to try out spicynodes in the coming TP.

  10. WOW, this is amazing! I study a lot by using mind maps because I find them really helpful. During my first teaching practice I also used the concept of mind mapping in class to introduce vocabulary and also as a conclusion of the whole unit. It took me time and energy to write everything on board. With an interactive whiteboard (or a laptop), I would save time and the node map would be more clear and fun!
    Thanks for sharing. I am creating a node map right now!!

  11. I think spicynodes is great! It is a helpful way for students to better understand and might use during their studies to come up with words, ideas, concepts and others on a particular subject. Also it helps students to reduce chunky information into main points so that it is easily remembered during a test or an exam or even in other aspects of their life. Great idea spicynodes!

  12. I tried the website spicynodes to give it a try as I had never come across it before. This blog is certainly a place where I can find new tools to make use in my lessons. As a concept, creating a website in a mind map format is great, especially considering how difficult it may be for certain students to organize information in their essays or even during PSD group activities. While I was on teaching practice I found it was difficult for the students to come up with ideas outright and that maybe use of ICT prior to the lesson may be an effective way of creating a basis for the following lesson.

    In this context, I find that the spicy nodes website can be used for homework to ask students to create their own websites as it lends itself perfectly to brainstorm a particular topic, without giving them any further assistance (other then showing them how to use the website briefly). Using this sort of website for activities such as “time to shine” could help students who are shy (but computer literate) to express themselves freely and to show to the rest of their class their talents and skills.

    The student in such an activity could simply write his or her name at the centre node and then expand from there adding more and more information and resources. Other then being great at organizing the students’ work, such a website also encourages the students to diversify content by adding youtube videos and other media.

    It seems like a truly great website for such types of activities even though on the downside I have to say that I did find the website a bit slow. This could obviously be due to my internet connection. I wonder how the others found it in terms of ease of use and speed.

    • The only downside which I found for Spicynodes was actually its lack of sharing ability. For an individual free licence online collaboration is not supported. For this reason, I also use XMind which I found great for online collaborative activities.

  13. I never used spicynodes before. It’s cool and would be a great tool to introduce a lesson in the form of a mind map. It is particularly effective for users who tend to learn kinesthetically and remember visually…pity it’s a hosted service, with no current option for offline use…but as some of you already suggested, it’s a great idea for a group project or homework…For instance, I teach Business Studies, and in my teaching practice I needed something to revise the 6 basic functions (departments) of an organisation and their respective job roles. This could have been a perfect idea to give as group project…However teachers might want to provide students with a visual tutorial (such as using screencast) before assigning them a project using this tool because, depending on their age, some might find it a bit challenging.

    • For those of you who would like to experiment with mindmapping software to be used both offline, and online as well as collaboratively I usually use Xmind. The visual display is not as nice as SpicyNodes I have to admit, but for those of you who require better functionality I think that Xmind will help.

  14. I am sharing this tutorial of using Spicynode as a tool in collaborative learning.
    As my mates did, I also googled SPICYNODE and decide to open another tab in YouTube and wrote teaching language using SpicyNode.
    Here I had the opportunity to view a tutorial of how I can make a good use of Spicynode in the context of teaching a language:

    I have decided to post the link of this tutorial (especially for those who teach a language)

  15. Hi all! I came across this free online website which seems useful for brainstorming and mindmapping exercises:

    https://bubbl.us/

    It’s free to use and you can add numerous bubbles to the spider web, change colours, fonts, link bubbles and lots more. I think it could be used for a number of applications and subjects etc I tried creating one as if it were being used by students within an English classroom, it seems to be quite easy to use.

    I also had a look at Spicynodes, and I think I could use it for a number of areas in English teaching, the first that comes to mind is the teaching of literature for instance. Each one of the modules could represent a particular area / theme /aspect etc, there are many possibilities and the nodes could represent sub-sections within these.

    This youtube video explains how it works:

    • Had come across the link for bubbl.us but had never actually used it. Now that you mentioned it here I just had a look at it and I think that it looks quite nice. Will experiment with it a bit more but thanks for sharing this. Much appreciate all your sharing.

  16. Spicynodes is great!! I never encountered anything like this on-line before! Surely students will like it and they will enjoy learning and studying notes. They easily remember the notes. The design will motivate them and be interested in the subject. I really like it! Xmind is good too! As you said, it’s perfect for online collaborative activities and you can export them to various file formats. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

  17. Ħadt gost ħafna nara dan l-artiklu u nfittex dwar spicynodes. Naħseb li bħala studenta għalliema tal-Malti dan hu sors importanti għalija. Dan għaliex dan l-aħħar l-università konna qegħdin nitgħallmu kif għandha ssir il-lezzjoni tal-kitba. Illum-il ġurnata l-għalliema qed jiġu mgħallma li l-kitba hi proċess u għandha ssir fil-klassi. Bħala parti mill-proċess insibu l-preparazzjoni għall-kitba fejn l-istudenti jagħmlu mind map bl-ideat tagħhom. Għalhekk, naħseb li spicynodes huwa utli ħafna biex l-istudenti jorganizzaw l-ideat tagħhom. Barra minn dan, l-spicynodes jista’ jintuża fil-bidu tal-lezzjoni meta l-għalliema tiċċekkja x’jafu l-istudenti biex imbagħad tkun tista’ tibni fuq dak li jafu.

  18. Qatt ma kont naf bl-ispicynode. Kif qal kulħadd qabli din hi għodda veru interessanti u ta’ kontribut għall-għallima u kif ukoll għall-istudenti. Mhux l-ewwel darba li fil-lezzjonijiet bdejna b’xi brainstorming jew inkella bil-mind mapping; ovvjament bl-użu tal-marker u tal-wajtbord. Naħseb jekk l-għalliem juża dan il-mezz, minflok bl-użu tradizzjonali (ovvjament ma nridx infisser li nidfnuh darba għal dejjem), il-lezzjonijiet tiegħu se jkunu ferm aktar effettivi u li jolqtu l-għajn.

    Ippruvajt nuża din l-għodda għal-lezzjonijiet tal-Malti. Sibtha ferm tajba meta ġejt biex nikklasifika lill-poeti u l-poeżiji tagħhom. Żgur li l-mod kif se nippreżentahom ħa jkun aktar siewji għall-istudenti biex jifhmu l-kunċett b’mod aktar faċli. Naqbel ma’ Reuben li l-ispicynode nistgħu nużawh bħala mezz ta’ xogħol għad-dar. Apparti milli t-tfal jitħarrġu aktar mad-dinja xjentifika żgur li dan il-mezz ħa jgħin lill-istudenti biex jitħarrġu aktar kif jorganizzaw l-informazzjoni li għandhom f’moħħhom u jaqsmuh f’garżelli differenti. Barra minn hekk ħafna studenti jitgħallmu aktar meta jkollhom quddiemhom il-viżiv u mhux xi ħaġa statika fuq karta (fil-fatt jien wieħed minnhom li nistudja bil-mind maps l-għaliex jibqgħu ċari f’moħħi).

    L-istudenti jistgħu jużaw dan is-servizz bla ħlas. Barra minn hekk l-istudenti jistgħu jaqsmu x-xogħol li jkunu ħadmu bejniethom u dan ikompli jsaħħaħ il-ħidma kollaborattiva.

    Inħeġġeġ lil kulħadd li bħala studenti għalliema nagħmlu użu minn dawn l-għodod virtwali tant siewja fit-tieni taħriġ prattiku ħalli nkunu nistgħu ndaħħlu fil-klassi dak li t-tfal iġibu minn djarhom kuljum.

  19. I don’t know, I am quite skeptical about this tool as I prefer information to be more structured. It seems that this doesn’t match my learning pattern of being sequential. I prefer to have more order and I get lost when I see something like this. My first impression was ‘Where should I click first?’ Usually, I prefer visual tools however this confuses me. I very much prefer infographics because it provides a smoother flow. With spicynodes one has to move back and forth and this means that one can easily miss something. I’m sorry to say but this tool is a no-no for me.

  20. This really is great!!! I never thought that there was so much interesting material that we could make us of!! I think I just get lazy sometimes and decide to make use of what I know there is and not try to search for something new! As a language teacher I think this might make a culture lesson really exciting! At least here the students may find it easier to learn like this because at least ( keeping on culture) they don’t have to see big paragraphs etc but just these simple spicynodes which at the end does add some taste to the lesson!

  21. These are great for mapping out ideas and concepts, both in subjects involving essay writing, as well as other subjects such as Science and Mathematics, to map out different definitions, methods and different ways of solving problems. Having the students use them as part of a homework assignment would increase their motivation of doing the work, since its something which they can do on their pc, and the outcome is colourful and appealing. I find this to be very useful, as at times getting a student to carry out homework tasks can be a challenge, especially if they perceive those tasks as boring or repetitive. Thanks for sharing this tool with us, I am sure that I will be making use of it 🙂

  22. Certainly this is the first time I heard of it. Well it is surely effective to teach abstract or rather difficult concepts. As most of us already now that some are inclined to learn through visuals. So what can be done in our context? We can plan a difficult lesson through spicynodes and we encourage students to use it either by taking the whole class to the Computer Lab so that they can venture into it together or by taking a look at it at home individually. This will surely revolutionise teaching, learning and studying. In making the learning task more attractive students will be engaged more.

  23. This application is simply what I need in the classroom while teaching mathematics, thank you it’s amazing. I’ve just tried it out a bit and it’s really interesting. Unfortunately, most students think that once you get finished with a topic in math, then it’s a closed drawer, however this is not true. Actually, almost all topics are linked together.

    I’ve tried to do diagrams before to show the links but never seems to work, however this is great, mostly for the fact that it moves etc, it’s not a static diagram anymore. I will surely use it and make it available for the students.

  24. As a PSD student teacher Spicynodes can surely be of great use to me especially while carrying out a brainstorming activity with the students as a warm-up exercise to a topic. I decided to share two links regarding Spicynodes. The first link shows specifically the use of Spicynodes for mindmapping. The following link describes the basic steps of using Spicynodes, as I think that is useful for beginner users of Spicynodes (like me) 

    I also found an interesting link about the use of Novamind for mindmapping…

  25. I wa actually looking into mind mapping/ brainstorming to use with the form ones in my coming teaching practice as I am looking to guide them in creating their own magazine using microsoft word, this way they will be able to learn the tools used in word and enjoy it in the meantime. But before progressing to this activity I would like them to come up with two mind maps;
    1) the different magazine topics they can think up such as : fashion, games, Famous people, sports, hobbies and so on. Being guides by me they would come up with a whole list of different types of magazines and also understand the concept of what a magazine is used for
    2) once they are placed on their groups I would need them to create another mind map about what they are going to put in their own magazine this time the topic will be more specific.

    Rather than asking them to draw up lists it wrote deacriptions i am rather sure they would enjoy these mind maps much more than simple writing down there ideas in the traditional form. I was thinking of creating the first mid map on the board so try get a grip of what a mind map is and how it is created. I will then ask them to create their own using the site I have found called creaza.

    Apart from mind maps this site also allows you to create your own comics or cartoon strips, since it has similar functions to Microsoft word I will also ask them to create a story line based on what their magazine will offer. This way when they come to actually creating their magazine they would have two easy visuals to follow and guide them to come up with the content of their very own creative magazine.

    I found creaza very useful but I will be sure to have a good look at The suggested tools mentioned in this blog! Thanks for sharing and I hope you find the tool I shared with you useful too. Kids enjoy getting their hands ‘dirty’ and engaging themselves I feel such activities are the best way to do this rather than simple getting a pen and paper and writing!

  26. This is an awesome tool for teaching English!!!! I have signed up and intend to use it, thanks for sharing online tutorials about it. Since we do a lot of creative writing such as essays, stories, and projects such as a newspaper, in class we use a lot of brainstorming. This tool is so much better than a plain whiteboard and pen, more interactive and I’m sure students will enjoy it so much more! I had not realised the extent of resources that you can find online, as usually I look for handouts and activity sheets. This is definitely the way forward!

  27. While reading these posts and comments I’m discovering new material and resources which I can use during my Maltese lessons. I’ve have never heard of SpicyNodes before. It is a very interesting tool and i’m sure that it will be of a great benefit to all students because:

    1) it simplifies complex information.
    2) it can be easier to find the needed information.
    3) it highlights the main points.
    4) it can help students get a visual idea of the subject.
    5) It is easy to get to know about familiar topics.

    We as future teachers are constantly encouraged to introduce our lessons with innovative ideas. We need to help students to make a link between the knowledge they already know and the new one (Vigotsky’s theory: Zone of Proximal Development).

    SpicyNodes can help us, future teachers, deliver our subject in simplified but interesting manner. Unfortunately, as others have already said it can only be used online but I’m looking forward to start experimenting and using Xmind.

  28. A tool not to be missed! I used a group work similar to how this tool works in my last teaching practice. I found it very good for the students to recall and discuss a finished topic in this manner. It was a great success as the children jotted a great amount of points related to the topic.

    Being an interactive tool will actually engage the students into using it. I will definitely be helpful for the students to study and for brainstorming. Difficult topics can actually be explained in a simple manner using this tool. Will definitely take note of Spicynodes.

  29. Spicynodes is such an attractive tool, I never knew there were such interesting sites!!! I think this is such a useful tool for the subject I’m teaching which is Maltese. Apart from creating fantastic lessons, it will help me more in understanding what the students already know, by classifying ideas and themes, let’s say, for literature lessons or during creative writing. Moreover, research by the project team shows that it is particularly effective for users who tend to learn kinesthetically and remember visually (Douma, Michael, Ligierko, & Ancuta, 2009). I will definitely use it for my next teaching practice as it is such a useful tool as I’m sure that this type of technology will keep the students interested and motivated!

  30. Wow that’s a great tool. I really enjoyed myself whilst I was discovering spicynode. I think that in my case; teaching a language, this site willl simply help me and my students in structuring our thoughts and ideas when it comes to essay writing. I think that it can be a way that can change essay writing into something fun with the use of technology.

  31. Thanks for sharing, I think this would be particularly useful during English lessons as we tend to create quite a lot of mind maps when eliciting topics and grammar points.

  32. Thanks for sharing. This is the first time I’ve heard of it. I think it would be very useful in class and very interactive. Using Spicynodes students will be more motivated to learn as it is something different which they do not use during every lesson and students get more involved. It would be very useful for example at the beginning of a new topic. While introducing the topic one can show the students the link of that topic with other topics and even with other subject and everyday situations where math is used. This would be appreciated especially by visual learners. I’m looking forward to having some time to learn more about Spicynodes so that I can make use of it during the coming teaching practice

  33. I have to agree with all my English colleagues. Thinking back to my last TP, and all the brainstorming I did with my students, these kinds of online tools would have been very helpful. Brainstorming is quite useful when trying to elicit knowledge from the students themselves, to gauge what exactly they know and what they still need to learn. It is also great for introducing a topic for discussion, or for revision, be it for language or literature. These tools would be so much better that the usual whiteboard/marker type of brainstorming. I will definitely be using these tools in the future!

  34. Thanks again for sharing another motivating tool! As my subject is maltese I can actually use it for a lot of my subject topics, for example if I want my students to brainstorm their ideas for a title for a composition they may do so with the help of this tool. Usually teachers draw up a large circle in the middle and loads of arrows around this circle, full of ideas all jumbled up, but with ‘Spicynodes’ teachers can draw the important ideas and then the second ideas for a compositions, hence there will be a structure and an organisation of ideas which will help students to organise their writing. Even for grammar lessons it’s very useful for the students to categorise certain nouns, verbs and loads of other topics.

    This tool is very effective for revision and for recuperating a lesson or for revising. It also helps the students to classify important notes.

  35. There were many times in the class where I tried to draw a sort of these spicynodes, but after describing a lot of words and getting into more details, I could not continue drawing more labels. This application looks very cool. It is very interesting for me, and it would be really more interesting for students, who at their age, they would prefer more colours and animations in what they see. I would definitely use this application or any similar one, as later on, I’m willing to create my personal blog for the classroom, and I’m looking forward to use it to explain topics, such as the Maltese 10 types of verb categories. It would be great that students will click on a node and it will show some examples of such a verb and its charactersitics. These spicynodes are very interactive and they will get students to participate more by clicking more nodes one after the other. Moreover, every topic for students will be organized under titles, and it will be beneficial as they do not get confused.

  36. I just visited the website and this looks great. To be honest I never heard about it, but I think that this tool would be useful on our TP. For instance, in my subject Social Studies, we make use of discussions, brainstorming to motivate the students to participate and share their opinions / views, and also this helps us as teachers to get an idea of the students’ prior knowledge.

    A mind map is a diagram used to represent words, ideas, tasks, or other items linked to and arranged around a central key word or idea. Mind mapping is fun and allows participation in the classroom.
    The elements of a given mind map are arranged intuitively according to the importance of the concepts, and are classified into groupings, branches, or areas, with the goal of representing semantic or other connections between portions of information. Mind maps may also aid recall of existing memories. By using this tool, I think that students can share and also learn to value difference and respect each other.
    I came across this website, which in my opinion is really helpful and gives you various ideas how minds maps can be applied (such as summarizing after a lesson):
    http://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/newISS_01.htm

  37. “Adding spice to your classroom”…so true!! Spicynodes is an amazing tool which I found rather fascinating and will definitely use during some of my French lessons. During my teaching practice, I used mind mapping as a brainstorming session for ideas for an essay. But this is so much more exciting than just writing on the whiteboard. The students will definitely love it, will participate more and will be very enthusiastic to come up with new ideas and opinions.

    I found this link to be very interesting and useful for my subject: http://www.spicynodes.org/a/4994784a2548ccc3470bb740e487c672
    This shows a mind map from Spicynodes, teaching the perfect tense (the Passé Composé). It is so easy to use and create…I will definitely try this out in my next TP, since usually, teaching French verbs and tenses in the usual ‘boring’ way, isn’t quite the ‘fun of the day’ for students.

    The nodes in Spicynodes are a very good way of representing what the students need to find and look for, in a very aesthetically-pleasing manner which is also making learning more fun. “Finding new information should be a fun, exploratory journey.”

  38. Spicynodes was new to me, using it I realized the ease of navigation one may encounter. I think as a religious education teacher I believe I encountered a similar structure using the vatican website, although it is not exactly the same. The home page feature a network of links within it which contain a chunk of links each.

    But definitely spicynodes has a much more user-friendly concept, a mind map which is highly structured giving suggestions of other research material all within one page in a highly organised manner. Easy access at a finger tip, which is not mind-mazing…but mind-mapping made easy.

  39. It’s the first time I came across it and look forward to use it. It empowers students to discover learning as they move from one bubble to the next. In addition, it s very helpful when it comes to explaining concepts which are complex. For example the concept of globalization and the link between different societies. It’s a relatively simple tool to spice up the lesson and which students will surely enjoy.

  40. Spicynodes is an amazing tool. I use a lot of brainstorming while I’m teaching, especially when it comes to eliciting vocabulary, as students find it really helpful when all the information is organised. Usually I use the board, but this is much better. Thanks for sharing it with us. I will definitely be using it. I also decided to download XMind, since as Ms Camilleri rightly pointed out, Spicynodes cannot be shared. Unlike Spicynodes, Xmind is a mindmapping software that can be used to share charts for collaboration and communication. Therefore, it is a great tool for online collaborative activities.

    The link below is a tutorial on how to create a mindmap using Xmind.

  41. Wow!! Spicynodes is surely bound to spice up my teaching, particularly now that I have been assigned the topics I am to cover and the include a handlful which might come across as pretty tedious at the onset! Quite simply mindmapping can get students on board, getting them involved in common tasks to achieve the set lesson goals. Mind mapping is most certainly an innovative approach to a secondary school teaching approach and I am increasingly looking forward to having a go at it and other tools of the sort. This blog has most certainly wet my appetite to go beyond the run-of-the-mill collaborative, constructivist approach and rather delve deeper into the digital arena.

  42. I’ve never hrard of spicynodes. It looks a bit difficult but I’m sure once one learns how to use it, it can be graet to chumnk and recall information easily and for god organisation.

  43. Very interesting site. It helps everyone to interact with information in different ways.
    I liked it because it is visually engaging, and intuitive. It’s natural and inviting. It is surely effective to teach abstract or rather difficult concepts.

    I think that the spicy nodes website could be used as an exercise, asking students to create their own websites, as it allows students to focus on a particular topic.

  44. Pingback: Now that you started TP … #MSL4206 | Seriously Virtual

Leave a Reply

