Twitter for Beginners

And just to keep up with the Twitter theme, for all those of you who we have managed to help convert  to  the Twitter network 🙂 to help you construct your own Professional and Personal Social Network… I have just come across this site with a step-by-step easy to follow guide on how to start you off. From experience I can tell you that what Twitter has achieved for my own learning, no other amounts of face-to-face or other social networks have managed to achieve – honestly. The mere fact that you can manage to get into contact with a community of people who are working towards a central goal, like becoming a better Educator, makes you feel part of this larger community where the ‘I’ somehow takes a second place with respect to the ‘WE’. The meaning of sharing, of empowerment and of making your voice heard, here, I have found takes on an entirely new meaning…

As an update to this post…some # to follow:

#edchat

#langchat

#edtech

#education

Another great link to help you with starting out with Twitter in Education.

57 thoughts on “Twitter for Beginners

  1. Although I have been on twitter for a few days, I agree with you about the amount of learning . I think yes its better than Facebook. In fact on twitter I came across many good articles which I can use for my teaching practice next month. I am looking forward for using twitter with my future students .

  2. Even I like more twitter than facebook. In my opinion they have different purposes, twitter is more serious like one can find interesting material/articles, while facebook is used more to socialize with friends and “gossip” what others do! I think it is also aimed for a younger age.

    I will definitely keep on using twitter, now even more that I was thinking of getting read of my facebook. Thanks for enlightening me!! 🙂

  3. #langchat takes place on Thursday nights for world language teachers. We vote on a topic and you end up with ideas/methods/ and motivation an hour later! If you know any language teachers – tell them to check it out! Best PD I’ve ever “attended!

  4. Sincerely, I used to hear others speaking of Twitter, but I never used it since I thought that twitter and facebook are the same. Now that you have given us the opportunity to explore, learn and use Twitter, I can conclude that they are not the same and that twitter is beneficial especially in teaching and learning. Thanks for twitter, students and teachers get to know more about themselves and each other. Students can discover more about the subject being taught, be motivated, can study better and learn effectively. Also those students who are shy, can overcome it in class and interact more. Teachers can also share their teaching resources and can search for more resources such as:
    @TESconnect
    @DiscoveryED
    @NASA_SDO_Edu
    @Designeducation

    I would like to thank you for this great opportunity and looking forward to use it with my students 🙂

  5. I was rather apprehensive about creating a Twitter account as I thought this was another way to dawdle, just as I do on Facebook. I don’t like facebook that much and I don’t like the idea of people posting every five minutes about what they’re doing, I thought that Twitter was the same.

    Just like you Claudia, I am new to Twitter and I haven’t had much time to explore it, however even though it’s different and better than Facebook, I am still not a huge fan. I will give it some time and make the best of use it though…

    • Jennifer today’s tools are various because people have different requirements. Although keeping an open mind is important, it could be that you do not find Twitter relevant to your needs yet. It could be that a few years down the line, you might wish to try using it again. Perseverance is a virtue which every Educator and learner should have. In the meantime, there are so many tools and applications that you can use, so enjoy yourself exploring the Web and finding out which best works for your needs 🙂

    • Jien naqbel mieghek Jennifer. Jien personalment ma naqbilx ma’ dawn is-sites ta’ social networking. Ija, vera tista issib links li jippostja haddiehor, u tikkomunika ma’ nies ohra… imma dik hija parti zghira hafna. Il-fatt li ghandek account, qed ittelgha informazzjoni personali li jistgha jaccessa kulhadd hija bla sens fl-opinjoni tieghi. Plus l-informazzjoni kollha li titfa hemm barra, malli titfaghha m’ghandekx kontroll fuqha, hija propjeta tal-internet u ta’ Facebook, Twitter, GooglePlus etc…

      Jien kelli facebook u nehhejtu ghax irrealizajt kemm il-kuncett tieghu hu irrelevanti ghal hajti. Jien nahseb biex taqsam xoghol u rizorsi professjonali tista taghmel dan b’mezzi ohra.

      • I think that your concept of social networking is a rather convergent and I see that as such you seem to have grasped only the idea of networking as entertainment and trivia. I don’t know what your thoughts were about this blog, and the contents of this blog. Blogging is also a social experience, as it builds a community together. Networking, means linking…connecting to people. I would assume that you agree with the concept that no man is an island. Many years ago, we had almost no option but to “hang out” with our nearest neighbours and people in our own little group. The Web has simply amplified the spaces which we used to recognise. I have to admit that Facebook is not my preferred mode for networking. But I make use of it when my University students form working groups. There are good groups of teachers both local and foreign who I have also joined too and a couple of professional networks. So I think that simply slamming down this kind of use of applications because of a limited view would not only not benefit you as a future teacher, but might also mean that you don’t accept the changing world we are living in.

      • Grazzi tal-hsieb tieghek. Pero ma nahsibx li l-opinjoni tieghi hija ‘convergent’, qas xejn. ma nahsibx li jfisser mhiniex qed nimxi maz-zminijiet, anzi nahseb qed nirrifletti. Ma niddejjaqx nghid x’nahseb fuq social networking ghax ghandi opinjoni valida. Social networking mhuwiex mahluq ghal skopijiet professjonali u hafna drabi ma jintuzax ghalhekk, dak mhuwiex l-iskop tieghu u qatt mhu ser ikun. Hadd ma jaghmel xej ghal xej u fl-ahhar mill-ahhar huma entitajiet kummercjali li ghandhom access ghal informazzjoni tieghek u ta’ ‘shabek’.

        Jien persuna li ma naqbilx mal-kuncett ta’ social networking ghax qed idahhal din it-trend fej persuni qed japplowdjaw bl-addocc informazzjoni personali hafna, u mhux qed jahsbu fuq l-implikazzjonijiet, li hafna drabi jistghu ikunu serji hafna.

        Blogging min naha l-ohra hija xi haga differenti, ghax fih hafna iktar xoghol u l-kuncett tieghu hu differenti. Filfatt blogging ma jaghmlux kulhadd. Jien l-ewwel wahda li nidhol fuq certu blogs li joghgbuni ghax ghandhom hafna informazzjoni. Mhux l-ewwel darba li nsegwi xi ricetta jew nfassal pattern li sibt fuq blog.

        Naqbel; le, m’ghadniex f’dak iz-zmien li irridu immorru l-pjazza biex niltaqghu pero nahseb li hemm mezzi ohra li nistghu nuzaw. Per ezempju private yahoo group, jew xi google site huma mezzi ahjar fl opinjoni tieghi. Illum it-teknologija infiltrat kulimkien, u hawn hafna nies li jafu juzawha u jimanipulawa, u ta’ dan, hafna nies li japplowdjaw u juzaw l-internet ma jifhmux l-implikazzjonijiet.

      • Sure…as I mentioned many times, everyone finds his/her way of doing things. What you mentioned, Google sites, yahoo groups, blogs, are important because they help you connect and communicate. I think that essentially those are two very important concepts which we both agree upon. Now how you manage to achieve your scopes and objectives depends very much on things and applications which you feel comfortable with. If everyone had to use the same things there would be chaos I think… and what is novelty today would become boring and lose its scope. The only thing which I would like to invite you to reflect upon is this: whatever your personal opinion is, remember that people out there – your students – will be using social networks… whether you agree or not. Remember…800million users worldwide for Facebook and 240,000 users in Malta. Now what I believe in is that as an Educator, it is important that you somehow get a message across about the importance of safety, the responsibility of sharing content online, and the necessity of being cautious when using the online environment…even if it is for fun. I also believe that you will not get anywhere by preaching in a class. Experience has taught me this, amongst other things. My little advice to you…if you want to take this from me…be ready and prepared to listen to your students, even if what they say is hidden in their actions. And be ready and prepared to embrace change. Some teachers, from what I have seen throughout the years, make the mistake of thinking they are always right… 🙂 In a classroom, it could be that others see things differently, which might make them right as well. Finally I am glad that I am having this discussion with you.

      • Naqbel li kulhadd ghandu l-modi tieghu. U naqbel hafna mieghek li imbilli tippriedka ma tasal imkien. Nifhem il-fatt li l-istudenti illum il-gurnata juzaw hafna Facebook. Pero jien bhala PSD teacher li naghmel personalment hu li nitfaghha fuqhom u niftah diskussjoni fuq is-suggett. Huma irridu jaslu ghal certu konkluzzjonijiet, u fl-ahhar mill-ahhar huma irridu jifformulaw l-ideat u l-opinjonijiet taghhom.

        Pero, jekk jigik student ta’ hdax-il sena u jghid fil-klassi li ghandu Facebook account u qed jiccetja ma’ nies li ma jafx ma tistghax ma titkellimx fuqha. Jien gratli, u meta qal hekk saqsejtu kux jaf l-eta li tista jkollu Facebook. Hu, b’nofs dahqa qalli li tlettax. Allura dort fuq shabu, “Allura StudentC ghandu jkollu Facebook?” U sfidajtom billi saqsejthom ghala hemm dik ir-regola.

        Jien nahseb Facebook qed johloq hafna mistoqsijiet etici li qed issiru fil-kamp ta’ l-edukazzjoni. Filfatt hafna skejjel ghandhom policies shah fuq facebook. jien hassejt li bhala ghalliema ghandi innehhieh ukoll biex nahrab minn sitwazzjonijiet etici li jistghu jinholqu ma’ l-istudenti, habba hacking minn studenti stess, milli jitla ismi meta jiggogljawni u hafna affarijiet ohra. Pero dik hija haga li ghamilt jien u nifhem il-fatt li mhux kulhadd ihoss dan il-bzonn jew jaghmel kif ghamilt jien. 😀

      • Yes as a PSD teacher, maybe even more than for other subjects, I am sure that the issue of writing online, safety and responsibility crops up. Listen have you ever tried EDMODO?Just click on it to have a look at it… what better way to show students by starting out a private class social network, which you will be moderating, and letting students experience themselves what you are trying to achieve…? And it would also give you space where your students can reflect, in an environment which they are familiar with. I have used it many times, and I find it is extremely safe and completely targeted towards Education and classrooms.

  6. Twitter is a whole new thing for me too. Like many other, I wasn’t quite sure about the purpose of creating a twitter account, but it surely is a great source of information. To be honest, I do like facebook – keeps me in touch with people i hardly see anymore, even though i definitely agree with Jennifer about disliking people that post useless comments every 2 minutes. But twitter is a whole new world! It’s a much serious source of information and it’s definitely a great way to keep yourself updated at all times.

  7. This was also my first time applying for a Twitter account. I had previously heard of Twitter but i never actually sat down and created an account especially since I have Facebook and didn’t see the need of creating a Twitter account.
    At first when we were asked to start using Twitter i was quite confused about how I was meant to be using it and for which purpose should i use it. Now that I’m familiarising myself with it, I’m staring to see all its advantages. People constantly use Twitter to share information and resources. Us users, can choose who to follow. Through Twitter you can get in contact with more people in this educational community (this may be different to Facebook). Twitter is also used to promote a better educational environment. People share videos and other useful information which i myself look forward to applying in my teaching practice experience. In fact I will definitely keep on using Twitter.

  8. Actually I was aware that twitter existed however I never felt the need to create an account. But after seeing this blog I decided to give it a try and I must admit that it really offers a greater opportunity for learning. Thanks a lot for creating this curiosity to check what this twitter is all about.

  9. Although I don’t have a Twitter account because I don’t have the need to as I have a Facebook account, I opine that Twitter is more professional than Facebook but less popular and less user-friendly. From what I have seen I think that it offers a greater opportunity of learning than Facebook mainly due to the very interesting and thoughtful articles which are constantly featured on it.

    • Hmmm did you try out Twitter? How can you say that it is more professional if you do not have an account? I think as for everything else, experience is very important. As with all other tools, unless you experience them it yourself it might look a bit scary due to the uncertainty which surrounds that which you would not know about. However I do suggest that for any other tool, you go through an experience where you actually try out any tool, and spend time experimenting with it. If you take a moment of consideration, this is one of the skills which babies and toddlers use to learn about all that surrounds them.

      • Twitter for me is a new exiting experience. Till now I love four things about Twitter, and I’m sure there will be much more in the near future.

        1. The best way to get excited about Twitter is to experiment with its search function. Try typing anything you care about for example: your home town, your company, your hobby, or any Twitter username.
        2. Unlike Google, Twitter searches what has been said by people in the last few minutes, hours, or days. It gives you a whole new way to get a sense of what “the world” is thinking right now about pretty much anything.
        3. Once you’ve signed up an account it’s easy to worry that you have to tweet (that is submit a message) every hour. No one’s counting. Once people follow you, they’re unlikely to un follow you unless you annoy them. So it’s fine to tweet only when you have something interesting to share. Once a day, once a week, once a month, it doesn’t matter.
        4. You could provide a thought, a quote, an article, a provocative question, a video, a picture, a funny turn of phrase or just “retweet” what someone else has shared.

  10. Hi all, so I was having a look into starting off a Twitter account of my own, (and I did eventually! – although I still need to have a good look around) and I decided to look up other articles specifically about language teaching and how Twitter can be used for my area, English. (apparently many English teachers receive lots of resources via Twitter, so I might as well give it a go 🙂 )

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2011/oct/11/twitter-for-english-language-teachers

    I think one of the points which struck me in this article and which we should be aware of is the following:

    “The question most new users ask me is about privacy. My advice is: don’t send anything private on Twitter. Use it for work and sharing content and that way you will never have to worry”

    I think that online networks and blogs such as this are very useful tools in our teaching. Being able to access things in such a short time is great. On the other hand, I do feel concerned (as would students parents) that students may unwillingly get themselves into tricky situations online through their posts…….. So I think it is important for us to have a look at how these tools are being used. On the other hand we have to be careful not to ruin the students’ online learning experience……..

    As in all things, there are the pros and cons I think we shouldn’t be afraid to use resources such as Twitter etc for teaching purposes and for socializing. We can learn so much simply by experimenting and trial and error. But we have to remind our students (and ourselves) that what we post online may be eventually be accessed by anyone and we must keep this in mind when using them. We all know how easy it is to forget this.

  11. I still need to look deeper into it but from what I could see from other people, v by following teachers on Twitter, English teachers are able to share numerous resources and ideas with each other. I have chosen to follow particular ones, and I will see how this works.

  12. I had heard about Twitter many a times but never searched about it nor signed up…I just had facebook. As Maria has already commented, I also think that Twitter is far more useful in terms of one’s own education. Facebook is more about having a profile, chatting and uploading photos and comments whilst twitter is more than that.
    When I signed up the other day, I spent about an hour scouring through the categories and suggested pages. It is really interesting and vast. This was helpful since I’m a beginner and all: http://www.creativeeducation.co.uk/blog/index.php/2010/12/twitter-for-teachers-a-guide-for-beginners/

  13. I was looking for videos on how to use twitter when I came across this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WPVWDkF7U8.

    I agree with what is said in the video. In schools, but also at university level, some students get shy to talk in front of the whole class and therefore they just don’t interact with the teacher. Twitter is a useful tool in class and also outside the class where all students are involved and participate. They can interact with the teacher but also between students themselves and without getting shy because others are looking at them. The most amazing thing, thanks to technology, is that they don’t need a computer every time they want to tweet something…they can tweet it directly from their mobile or ipad.

  14. Indeed! Twitter is another online social networking service… Actually, it is a real-time information network that connects people together and they share and receive the latest information about various aspects and different interests. Coming to think of it, it is true, it is a place in which the singularity of ‘I’ is transformed to the plurality of ‘We’ and I personally think that it is the ‘We’ which makes it a ‘Community’. And the nicest and healthiest thing about it all is the fact, that, when there is community, isolation is nowhere to be involved and seen … Talking about twitter, I also like its name – ‘twitter’. When being segmented, there is the word ‘twit’ which immediately puts us into a picture of a bird. Why did Jack Dorsey, the creator of twitter, give that name? What were his intentions? Interestingly, when he was once being interviewed, he commented the following “…we came across the word ‘twitter’, and it was just perfect. The definition was ‘a short burst of inconsequential information,’ and ‘chirps from birds’. And that’s exactly what the product was.” Twitter has also been described as ‘the SMS of Internet’.

  15. Din ta’ Twitter vera tajba… inkun onest qatt ma kont hadt interess kif tahdem u ma tahdimx is-sistema’ izda mill-mument ta’ l-ispjegazjoni waqt il-lecture il-quddiem intbaht li kont qed nitlef u bil-kbir… l-ewwel haga bqajt imbellah meta skoprejt li n-nies li nkun maghhom kuljum kienu diga kollha kemm huma fis-sistema u qed juzawha b’mod regolari… apparti minn hekk fix-xoghol li naghmlu ahna l-artisti, tant kemm il-komunita hija fattur importanti li dak il-mument li ma tkunx qed isemma lehnek fejn hemm il-konsumatur, ifisser li tkun qieghed tnaqqas mill-impatt li jista jhalli xogholok.

    Dinja interessanti ferm u nispera li min ghandu mhux qed juza’ dal-beneficju jintebah b’mod immedjat u jaghraf li “the way forward” ma hijiex dik li tinqata ghalik u tghix go dinja ghalik, izda ghal kuntrajru semma lehnek fejn in-nies b’widnejhom miftuhin lesti biex jisimghu 🙂

  16. Once students start twittering I think they will develop a sense of each other as people beyond the classroom space, rather than just students that the teacher sees once a week for forty-five minutes (as in case of PSD in Form 4, for example).

    This carries with it a range of benefits. Students will surely be more willing to talk, and more respectful to others. It will also help the teacher understand what type of students he/she has during the lesson. It is an opportunity where teachers learn a great deal about students’ lives, where they spend their free time, and what type of things they enjoy doing.

    Now this type of supplementary material might not be attractive to all educators, but I assume that it will definitely change the classroom dynamics for the better. I think this is connected to what Clive Thompson calls the sixth sense of Twitter. And having the Sixth Sense can really help the classroom!

  17. I had heard of twitter before, but I didn’t know what its purpose was. I just thought that it was the same as facebook and therefore never deemed it necessary to create an account. Now that I have tried it out myself, I can definitely say that twitter is useful in its own way. Through it people can follow anyone they want not just friends and share information and videos, thus learning from each other.

    I came across this video on Youtube which really helped me get started 🙂

  18. Honestly I was rather reluctant to create a Twitter account as I did not think that one could get so much information (which is not about other people’s personal lives). In fact, I don’t like the fact that people on facebook post everything they are doing in their lives. I thought Twitter was the same. I did not have much time to explore it yet, but am already like it and will surely give it some time.

  19. I am also new to twitter and I felt lost and unsure of what I can do with Twitter but the website that Jolene suggests helped me to understand further its use. I agree with my colleagues that twitter is another social network with far much more to offer. I now see it as a network where educational ideas can be shared and we can all learn from each other. I started following some people and I am finding out so many interesting stuff that I could use for my teaching practice and my future career. I will really start promoting Twitter to my friends so that they will also benefit from this technology. I will also put in a video on how to use twitter for those that are beginners like me:

  20. Illum kulħadd jitkellem dwar Twitter u Facebook imma fil-verita’ x’inhu l-iskop ta’ dawn il-programmi? Il-ġenerazzjoni ta’ qabilna ma kellhomx dan l-aċċess iżda fortunatament uħud minnhom xorta għarfu l-importanza ta’ dawn in-networks għaliex huma stess għandhom ‘account’. Personalment jiena narahom bħala vantaġġ kbir fil-ħajja mgħaġġla tal-lum għaliex permezz tagħhom wieħed iżomm kuntatt ma’ ħaddieħor, jaqsam l-ideat u jesprimi l-vuċi tiegħu.

    Għalkemm fil-bidu forsi jidher stramb la tidrah ssibu tassew utli u jiena nemmen li għandu jidħol fl-iskejjel ukoll. Għaliex le? Permezz ta’ Twitter l-għalliema tista’ żżomm kuntatt regolari mal-istudenti u tgħinhom fejn ikun hemm bżonn. B’hekk, l-istudenti ma jibqgħux jaraw l-għalliem/a bħala persuna tradizzjonali u li ma tafx x’inhu jiġri madwarha.Ovvjament wieħed irid joqgħod attent sabiex juża dawn in-networks b’responsabbilta’ kbira.

    Għal min ma għandux Twitter jiena nissuġġerixxi li jipprovah u jidħlu f’din id-dinja ġdida. Din l-għodda mhux ta’ min jarmiha u għalhekk jiena nħeġġiġkom ħafna sabiex tużaw din is-sistema. Tistgħu tiffamiljaraw ruħkom dwar Twitter billi taraw dan il-vidjow:

  21. As many before me mentioned, I had only heard of Twitter through my friends, but I never actually thought of creating one myself. I was afraid that it was going to be like facebook and knowing that sometimes I just end up spending an hour on facebook without even realizing that so much time had passed that kept me from creating one. Now that I created it, it is quite fun and at the same time it offers that which facebook does not offer. At least people on Twitter do tweet some valuable and interesting information which are useful. I am grateful that I didn’t get to see the “I’m off for a shower” kind of comment. As many pointed out, I also think that Twitter will be quite interesting to use with the students, they will get to, in a way, spend more time together and therefore getting to know each other and this may also help to promote learners autonomy because if a student tweets something which is found interesting by the whole class and praised about it, the others will automatically start doing the same thing.

  22. I created a twitter account as a means to explore this new form of social networking. I was never a big fan of Twitter and honestly I still prefer Facebook as a secure base to create a personal profile in a social setting and to access interesting groups which I might want to join. When I joined Twitter I found pretty much what I had expected and that people would be twitting in their comments. What makes Twitter different from Facebook (and possibly gives it an edge) is the different entities which can be followed through Twitter. Twitter is much more tuned to provide constant, up-to-date information of what is going on and that is probably why it was constantly mentioned as THE tool which allowed the whole Arab spring to take place. As a means of communicating it is much more useful then Facebook, even though Facebook is a better “all-rounder” and is maybe Why I think that student prefer to use Facebook as opposed to Twitter.

    As a means of networking for professionals and to have conversations and create important links, I still think that Twitter is a great tool. The video Maria Micallef uploaded highlights the importance of Twitter as a means of having a “conversation” or maybe a discourse in the classic academic sense. Instead of writing whole papers, concepts and ideas can be discussed, evaluated and assessed by peers through this social networking tool.

    Personally, I believe that the current trend of integration of different social networking media means that Twitter may have a new revival. Google has already integrated most of its online applications and has created the Google passport which is great for purchasing and accessing personal information more quickly. In the long run I believe that Twitter may join Facebook and other social networking sites to create personal profile passports which may be transferable from one site to another or simply being able to access all the different websites at once from one platform. I believe that this would be better for the end users and given that Facebook is soon to become partly owned by shareholders, I think that the user’s opinions will have to be respected more in the future. So Twitter is great but not necessarily so great on it’s own.

  23. I had been thinking about creating a twitter account for some time. I needed that extra little push and now I do not regret it. Now that I’ve started using it, I really see twitter as a great tool for finding people with similar interests, share information and learn from each other.

    I see twitter as very different from facebook. It’s interface is designed primarily for sharing bits of information in a concise way. It is also less personal than facebook. On facebook one shares his history through his photos, personal information and comments. This makes it more like a ‘spying tool’, and is more prone for abuse and void comments Ex. I’m not interested in the private lives of my friends and thus comments such as: ‘I’ve just come back from football’ or I’m going for a shower’. This is one of the principal reasons that I like twitter since by it’s very interface it reduces void comments and is aimed at more professional people. This may be one of the reasons that most people still prefer facebook.

    However, I may be wrong. I’ve just started using twitter and currently most of the people that I’m following are professionals. I hope I’m right though!:)

  24. Although I heard about twitter before (mainly from the entertainment industy) I was never interested in creating an account since I have Facebook. I thought it was something similar where people posted mainly what they are doing. Never thought that it can be used for educational purposes and sharing of resources. Although I created the account to be honest I still haven’t had much time to explore it but I’m sure that as I get used to it will be more beneficial to teaching than Facebook. (At first I didn’t like Facebook until I got addicted to it). The step by step guide and the videos posted her were very helpful. For those of you who would like the tweets to be posted on Facebook I found this tutorial:

  25. I have a twitter account but I never used it. Maybe because I did not find it popular here in Malta. Reading all these comments, I think that twitter can be really helpful and less time consuming (Facebook can be a distraction sometimes). Having straight-to-the point comments and information, I think that twitter is better than other social networks, especially where education is concerned.

  26. I am also new to Twitter. I have some friends who have been using Twitter for a long time and some of them say that they prefer it much more than facebook. I am still exploring what Twitter is all about and what are its applications. In fact, I found this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYWYSI_j-kk which provides a brief description of 4 different applications which can be useful in the classroom. This includes Twtpic which shows how to upload photos on Twitter, Twtpoll which allows the use of surveys online. This is useful for teachers to gather feedback from the students such as lesson evaluations. GrpTweet is another application on Twitter which allows the creation of a classroom account in which all the contributors may follow and FollowerWonk which is a data analysis tool.

    I hope that you will find this short video interesting, especially for those who are extremely new to twitter and such applications.

  27. Although I’ve had a Twitter account for over a year I hardly, if ever, use it compared to my Facebook account. I thought it was merely a sort of extension of Facebook which I wouldn’t find useful…however, as I’m beginning to discover it possesses more information than Facebook could ever share.
    I’m impressed at how vast the tweets are and how they range from everyday occurences to more insightful and inspirational tweets.

    • Honestly I am new to twitter. I’ve heard about it many times but I never searched about it or even make an account. I have always thought that twitter is like facebook but after I started exploring about twitter I was quite wrong. Twitter is very different from facebook and beneficial for teachers and students as well. Teachers can share their resources and students can also interact with their friends and teachers as well.

  28. I have to admit I am not much of a Twitter user and prefer to use Facebook to communicate with other people. However with the step-by-step approach, I can use it to communicate with my colleagues and even with my students. The advantage twitter has is that it is not as public and “open” as Facebook is. Also I totally agree with the comment that the “I” takes second place to the “We” in a community of learning. Thanks to technology, this virtual learning community is possible to share ideas, communicate and all.

  29. I have had Twitter for well over two years I believe and I truly cannot get enough of it! News appears first on Twitter, sometimes even before Reuters or Associated Press and it definitely spreads the fastest on there too! Hash tags make it incredibly easy to connect and find the stuff you’re looking for.

    Also, thank you for giving me the idea to create another twitter account for professional use. I’m currently using LinkedIn for professional use but twitter would be far more convenient.

  30. I don’t have twitter yet, but what I’ve heard and read about it, it seems to be a very creative tool for groups of the same likes. I searched for information, saw videos and read blogs about Twitter and how it works, and it seems to help communities to gather together and share their experiences. I’ll definitely give it a try in the forthcoming days. And for us future teachers, feedback and sharings of others’ experiences are one of the most fundamental parts in our lifes. Everyone is in need of a feedback after doing something, and for us, feedback will be a source of motivation. Instead of Twitter, many of us may still use the traditional method, that of staffrooms. The staffroom is the place in school where there is a lot of ideas and feedbacks passed on. But it is limited to a number of individuals. Twitter brings the staffroom to a wider and worldwide aspect.

    I would like to share two of the sites I read about Twitter, the second one being a blog. Here are tools that can be used on Twitter, and many of them can be beneficial for us future teachers. The most interesting tools being those about the Group section, where one can find groups of the same like or create his own personal group.

    http://www.bestcollegesonline.com/blog/2009/04/02/top-100-tools-for-the-twittering-teacher/

    http://educationtechnology-theoryandpractice.blogspot.com/2011/08/tweetdeck-100s-of-twitter-tools-for.html

  31. In these days social networks make a huge impact in the world. Many people use ‘Facebook’ as a social network but in fact it has nothing to do with ‘Twitter’. ‘Facebook’ is mainly used by people to express theirselves, share their day to day experience but education is less evident on this network, while twitter has a more educational orientation.The following video shows how ‘Twitter’ can be used in education: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5yYEZtV9NLo&feature=related
    This video explains that in various Universities ‘Twitter’ is being used to distribute important information in less time. ‘Twitter’ can also be used during discussions where students can give their opinion and this would encourage even shy people to participate even more. There are also blogs where teachers can extend their knowledge for example learning innovative ways how to deliver a lesson. This social network can also improve study in certain subject by having additional online notes. I think that I will for sure re-consider Twitter in that it may enhance my teaching abilities and even to deliver additional learning to my students.

  32. Onestament qatt ma kont għadni smajt bi Twitter. Facebook jogħġobni għaliex huwa opportunità fejn tista’ tissoċjalizza mal-oħrajn. Iżda nammetti li Twitter hu ħafna aħjar minn Facebook għaliex huwa wkoll sors ta’ tagħlim. Żgur li se nibda nużah u se nkompli nużah meta nsir għalliema. Dan għaliex, permezz tiegħu l-għalliema u l-istudenti jistgħu jsiru jafu aktar lil xulxin. Permezz tal-użu tat-Twitter l-istudenti jkollhom aktar aċċess sabiex jitgħallmu s-suġġett tagħhom għaliex jistgħu jsibu l-materjal li tpoġġi l-għalliema.

    Għalhekk fl-aħħar nixtieq nirringrazzjak tal-għarfien kollu li tajtna.

  33. I never used Twitter so thanks so much for the information you posted. It was very interesting. I had heard about it but never actually tried to create an account. I also found this link on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0xbjIE8cPM which also shows steps on how to use Twitter. Seeing the advantages that it offers, I think I will start using it.

  34. I signed up to Twitter and I am following some people who are giving me some really interesting insights on education. Although I still use Facebook and personally think that both are effective social media tools, I think that Twitter is much better when it comes to teaching and education.

  35. I’m new to twiiter but fr what I’m gathering it’s just a social network to socialise but a graet way to learn and share ideas, works and information by finding people who are intrested in the same fiels. working together makes work better : )

  36. Twittering also helps to extend beyond the limited contact time in our schools. Moreover, kids just love it! It is a fun forum and an open platform for students to express themselves using the Italian language. It will enable students to experience social networking first-hand while contributing to community-building.

Leave a Reply

